Patient Safety Awards 2016

9 July 2018 Manchester Central

Image Header

2017 Patient Safety Awards winners revealed

The winners of the 2017 Patient Safety Awards were announced on 4 July at Manchester Central, Manchester. The awards were a great evening of recognition and celebration for all the organisations demonstrating improved practice and delivery in patient safety.

This year saw fierce competition for these coveted awards with over 550 submissions, of which only 170 made it to the final cut, and from those 21 deserving winners were decided by our expert panel of judges (with an additional 12 projects also receiving a high commendation in their category.) The judges were very impressed with the high standard of this year’s entries.

View 2017 winners>>

Shaun Lintern, Senior Patient Safety Correspondent, said:

“The Patient Safety Awards, now in its 9th year, is an annual celebration of the NHS’s fantastic efforts to improve the quality of healthcare. The winning projects are led by dedicated teams or individuals who have made measurable differences to the care their patients receive. Our independent judges, drawn from across the health service, have chosen the very best of the best – a collection of talent that every year helps the NHS continue to be a global leader in safety.

It’s important we remember these teams and projects have been delivered during a time of tremendous pressure when staff are having to work harder and harder while under the shadow of austerity and pay restraint. This is one of the toughest times for the NHS as patient demand and acuity continue rising and there are workforce shortages across all health sectors. In that context the success of each of the winners and shortlisted projects are that much more deserving of our thanks and recognition.”

2017 Awards


Why attend?
Patient safety is the business of every individual involved in healthcare, whether they are on the board or on the ward, making this the only event where you will be able to acknowledge your organisation’s achievements with your entire team.
We have 21 categories in total and 10 new awards including: Best Patient Safety Initiative in A&E, Patient Safety in Learning Disabilities, Patient Safety in Critical Care and Trauma Patients and Patient Safety in Maternity and Midwifery Services.
Our judging process is the most rigorous and our judges are some of the most respected figures in the heath care sector.


By continuing to use the site you agree to our cookies policy. Accept